Note: This page contains outdated content and may not appear correctly.
Please Click Here to find recent news, events and information from CUPE Ontario.

Voters across the province chose CUPE Ontario members to lead their communities in municipal and school board elections Monday.

“Public services are the backbone of every community,” said CUPE Ontario President Fred Hahn. “Clearly our communities trust CUPE members, who spend their lives providing those public services, to stand up for them as elected leaders.”

At least nine members were elected to positions including mayor, councillor and school board trustee in communities from Windsor to Kenora. Hundreds more members got active in campaigns promoting strong public services and good jobs.

Members elected

Aldo DiCarlo, Local 1393 – Mayor, Amherstburg

Jennifer Kitowski, Local 5911 – Keewatin-Patricia District School Board

Jennifer Ajandi, Local 4207 – District School Board of Niagara

Shawn Wilson,Local 1287 – Thorold City Council

Pat Chiocchio, Local 1263 – Welland City Council

Diane Therrien, Local 3908 – Peterborough City Council

Rene Lapierre, Local 4705 – Sudbury City Council

Bart Wood, Local 4616-3 – Township of Machar Council

Dave Neeson, Local 905 – Town of Georgina Council

Mark Burgess, Local 7575 and 4186 – St. Thomas Alderman

CUPE Ontario congratulates all these members and thanks the dozens of other CUPE members, retirees and staff in communities across the province who stood for election and fought hard for the public services we all rely on.