Note: This page contains outdated content and may not appear correctly.
Please Click Here to find recent news, events and information from CUPE Ontario.

17 Seats for the NDP

A raucous cheer erupted in Hamilton as NDP leader Andrea Horwath became the first candidate to be declared a winner in last night’s provincial election. By the end of the evening, voters had soundly rejected the policies and negative campaigning of Tim Hudak and the Ontario PC Party and effectively handed the balance of power to the NDP under a Liberal minority government.

Ontarians elected 53 Liberals, 37 PCs and 17 New Democrats. It is the largest number of NDP candidates elected since 1995. Because 54 seats are required for a majority, Premier Dalton McGuinty will have to appeal to NDP or PC candidates for support on any bill, and the PCs would require NDP backing to bring down the government.

CUPE members have been helping out throughout the campaign in key NDP ridings, and the union publicly declared its support for NDP candidates across the province. That support was especially important in helping to get out the vote last night, an evening that resulted in several nail-biting races including the historic election of New Democrat Jagmeet Singh in Bramalea-Gore-Malton, Jonah Schein in Davenport and huge gains in Northern Ontario.

NDP MPPs elected

Michael Mantha (Algoma-Manitoulan)

Michael Prue (Beaches-East York)

Jagmeet Singh (Bramalea-Gore-Malton)

Jonah Schein (Davenport)

Taras Natyshak (Essex)

Andrea Horwath (Hamilton Centre)

Paul Miller (Hamilton East-Stoney Creek)

Monique Taylor (Hamilton Mountain)

Sarah Campbell (Kenora-Rainy River)

Teresa Armstrong (London-Fanshawe)

France Gélinas (Nickel Belt)

Cheri DiNovo (Parkdale-High Park)

John Vanthof (Temiskaming-Cochrane)

Gilles Bisson (Timmins-James Bay)

Peter Tabuns (Toronto-Danforth)

Rosario Marchese (Trinity-Spadina)

Cindy Forster (Welland)

Click Here to view the results by electoral district